Specialist Courses - Nationally Recognised Qualifications - Customised Training and Consultancy

Preventing and responding to violence, abuse, neglect and exploitation

Is this course suitable for you or your Organisation?

This course is available:

  • For Cerebral Palsy Alliance employees

This course is designed to be presented as a blended course with the Preventing and responding to violence, abuse, neglect and exploitation online course as a prerequisite.

Why choose this course?

This course is designed for disability support practitioners and managers in disability support services. 
You will be provided with information that will assist you to identify early warning signs and understand best practice strategies that will help prevent violence, abuse, neglect and exploitation of the people you support. You will have the opportunity to discuss and apply the concepts using case studies and structured activities. This course includes concepts introduced through the NDS Zero tolerance initiative and aims to reduce and eliminate incidences of Abuse for people with disabilities by examining individual values and ways of working that protect people.

What content does the program cover?

This 5hour face to face course on Preventing and responding to violence, abuse, neglect and exploitation equips participants to have an awareness of the issues and to understand their responsibilities of responding to and reporting incidents. 
The course content will enable participants to: 

  • Explore what violence, abuse, neglect and exploitation may look like in disability services, including early warning signs
  • Explain the causes and risk factors of Abuse, Violence & Neglect including individual values and workplace culture
  • Identify ways of supporting people with disabilities that will protect them from violence, abuse, neglect and exploitation
  • Outline how to respond to incidents of violence, abuse, neglect and exploitation

Does the program have any prerequisites?

The following online learning course must be completed prior to attending this course.

  • Preventing and responding to abuse, assault and risk of harm – Online

This online course must be completed at least 1 business day prior to attending the face to face workshop and can be accessed via the Online Learning System.  

How long is the course? 

Duration: 5hrs
Time: Please see scheduled times below or enquire

Where can I get more information?

Contact:  Training Alliance team
Email:      training@cerebralpalsy.org.au
Phone:     +61 2 9975 8715
Cancellation conditions apply
 

Enquire Now

Course Dates

Please select your course date.

Start DateLocationCost
Wed 14 Dec 2022 at 9:30AM 1 class Allambie Register
Wed 18 Jan 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Thu 19 Jan 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Beam Services (Hunter staff only) Register
Mon 30 Jan 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Fri 03 Feb 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Beam Services (Hunter staff only) Register
Thu 09 Feb 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Allambie Register
Mon 27 Feb 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Prairiewood Register
Mon 27 Feb 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Beam Services (Hunter staff only) Register
Wed 08 Mar 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Allambie Register
Fri 17 Mar 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Wed 29 Mar 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Beam Services (Hunter staff only) Register
Thu 06 Apr 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Fri 21 Apr 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Allambie Register
Fri 28 Apr 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Beam Services (Hunter staff only) Register
Fri 05 May 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Mon 08 May 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Beam Services (Hunter staff only) Register
Mon 22 May 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Prairiewood Register
Tue 30 May 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Allambie Register
Tue 20 Jun 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Thu 22 Jun 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Beam Services (Hunter staff only) Register
Thu 29 Jun 2023 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register