Specialist Courses - Nationally Recognised Qualifications - Customised Training and Consultancy

Mealtime assistance

Why choose this course?

This course is available:

  • for Cerebral Palsy Alliance employees: see the scheduled dates below
  • for public participants or organisations: please enquire below about course dates or group bookings at your venue or ours

This course is a compulsory orientation activity for all staff who assist clients during mealtimes. The course provides participants with information on enjoyable mealtimes, safe eating and drinking procedures and improved nutrition. It outlines strategies on how to facilitate safe and enjoyable mealtimes for clients by following their individual mealtime plans.

For Cerebral Palsy Alliance Employees

  • At Cerebral Palsy Alliance this is a compulsory induction activity for all employees who assist clients with mealtimes or who are present during mealtimes or are otherwise involved in clients’ mealtimes.

  • Cerebral Palsy Alliance employees are exempt from the course fee.

What content does the program cover?

This half day course offers guidelines on how to follow clients’ individual mealtime plans, and how to facilitate safe enjoyable mealtimes.

The content of this course will enable you to:

•    Recognise the importance of mealtimes
•    Recognise signs of swallowing difficulty 
•    Understand the purpose, function and importance of mealtime plans
•    Understand how to follow and implement mealtime plans 
•    Understand what to do with any inconsistencies or difficult to follow instructions in a mealtime plan
•    Introduction to the IDDSI Framework 

The training covers strategies that promote personal dignity, safe swallow, appropriate seating and positioning and mealtime assistance techniques. The course also includes practical tasks on food and drink preparation. 

The presentation includes a range of multi-media examples, hands-on activities and group discussions.

How will course work be assessed?

The assessment for this learning activity is contained within group activities and is determined through observation of participation and contribution towards the learning objectives of the course.

What is the cost?

Cost: $240 incl. GST for individuals

How long is the course? 

Duration: Half day
Time: Please see scheduled times or enquire below

Please BYO lunch 

Where can I get more information?

Contact: The Training Alliance team
Email: training@cerebralpalsy.org.au 
Phone: +61 2 9975 8715 

 
Cancellation conditions apply

Enquire Now

Course Dates

Please select your course date.

Start DateLocationCost
Mon 25 Jan 2021 at 1:00PM 1 class Croudace Bay Register
Thu 04 Feb 2021 at 1:00PM 1 class Ryde Register
Mon 08 Feb 2021 at 1:00PM 1 class Croudace Bay Register
Wed 17 Feb 2021 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Mon 22 Feb 2021 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Thu 04 Mar 2021 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Wed 17 Mar 2021 at 9:30AM 1 class Allambie Register
Mon 22 Mar 2021 at 1:00PM 1 class Croudace Bay Register
Tue 06 Apr 2021 at 9:30AM 1 class Croudace Bay Register
Wed 07 Apr 2021 at 9:30AM 1 class Allambie Register
Wed 14 Apr 2021 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Wed 21 Apr 2021 at 1:00PM 1 class Croudace Bay Register
Wed 05 May 2021 at 1:00PM 1 class Ryde Register
Wed 12 May 2021 at 1:00PM 1 class Allambie Register
Fri 21 May 2021 at 1:00PM 1 class Croudace Bay Register
Wed 02 Jun 2021 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Fri 04 Jun 2021 at 1:00PM 1 class Croudace Bay Register
Wed 09 Jun 2021 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Fri 25 Jun 2021 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register