Specialist Courses - Nationally Recognised Qualifications - Customised Training and Consultancy

Positive approaches to behaviour support: Disability support

Is this course suitable for you or your organisation?                                                               

This course is available:         

  • for Cerebral Palsy Alliance employees only

Why choose this course?

This course is for employees who support individuals who may display behaviours of concern including Disability Support Practitioners, Accommodation and Respite Managers and Lifestyle Support managers.  You will be provided with information about positive approaches to behaviour support and have the opportunity to discuss and apply the concepts using case studies and structured activities. This is essential knowledge to understand and implement CPA’s support policy and the Restricted Practice and the Authorisation process.

What content does the program cover?

The course will provide the participants with the opportunity to develop their knowledge and skills in:

  • Identifying behaviours of concern and their possible function.
  • Using a person centred approach to understand the person, their lifestyle and the environment in which they live.
  • Understanding, implementing and monitoring behavioural strategies developed to support individuals who display behaviours of concern.
  • Understanding the principles governing the use of Restricted Practices and the Restricted Practice Authorisation process including the roles and responsibilities of staff/managers in the process.
  • CPA's policies and procedures relating to the area of behaviour support and the responsibilities outlined in these.

Course completion requires:

The assessment for this learning activity is contained within group activities and discussions.

What is the cost?

There is no cost for this course.

How long is the course?

Duration: 1 day

Time:  Please see scheduled times or enquire below.

Where can I get more information?

Contact:  Training Alliance team
Email:      training@cerebralpalsy.org.au
Phone:     +61 2 9975 8715

Cancellation conditions apply

Enquire Now

Course Dates

Please select your course date.

Start DateLocationCost
Tue 22 Jan 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Wed 30 Jan 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Tue 05 Feb 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Croudace Bay Register
Wed 13 Feb 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Thu 14 Mar 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Allambie Register
Wed 20 Mar 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Fri 05 Apr 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Wed 24 Apr 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Allambie Register
Thu 09 May 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Wed 15 May 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Allambie Register
Wed 12 Jun 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Wed 26 Jun 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Allambie Register
Wed 10 Jul 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Wed 24 Jul 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Wed 14 Aug 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Allambie Register
Wed 21 Aug 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Fri 13 Sep 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Croudace Bay Register
Wed 18 Sep 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Wed 09 Oct 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Prairiewood Register
Wed 23 Oct 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Wed 06 Nov 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Wed 20 Nov 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Allambie Register
Wed 11 Dec 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register
Wed 18 Dec 2019 at 9:30AM 1 class Ryde Register